

SPECIAL MEETING OF COUNCIL MINUTES

Purpose: Swearing in of New Councillors and Election of the Shire President and Deputy Shire President

held on

Tuesday 19 October 2021

Commencing at 6.00pm Shire of Donnybrook Balingup Council Chambers, Donnybrook

Ben Rose Chief Executive Officer

20 October 2021

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Item No		Subject	
1	DECL	ARATION OF OPENING / ANNOUNCEMENT OF VISITORS	3
2	ATTE	NDANCE	3
	2.1	APOLOGIES	4
	2.2	APPROVED LEAVE OF ABSENCE	4
3	SWEARING-IN OF NEW COUNCILLORS		
4	ELECTION OF SHIRE PRESIDENT		
5	ELECTION OF DEPUTY SHIRE PRESIDENT4		
6	ALLOCATION OF SEATING ARRANGEMENTS		
7	CLOSURE		

SHIRE OF DONNYBROOK BALINGUP SPECIAL MEETING OF COUNCIL MINUTES

Held in the Council Chambers Tuesday 19 October 2021 at 6.00pm

1 DECLARATION OF OPENING / ANNOUNCEMENT OF VISITORS

The CEO declared the meeting open and welcomed the public gallery, Councillors, Councillors Elect, Ex Councillors and staff at 6:00pm.

Acknowledgment of Country

We acknowledge the Traditional Custodians of the land, the Wardandi People of the Noongar Nation, pay our respects to Elders past, present and emerging.

CEO – Public Notification of Recording of Meetings

The CEO advised that the meeting was being digitally recorded to assist with minute taking in accordance with Council Policy 1.25. The CEO further stated the following:

If you do not give permission for your participation to be recorded, please indicate this at the meeting. Members are reminded that no other visual or audio recording of this meeting by any other means is allowed without the permission of the Chairperson.

Shire of Donnybrook Balingup Meeting Procedures Local Law 2017 6.17 (4) "A person shall ensure that his or her mobile telephone, audible pager or other electronic communications device is not switched on or used during any meeting of the Council, unless required for emergency use and permission has been granted by the Presiding Member prior to the start of the meeting."

2 ATTENDANCE

MEMBERS PRESENT

COUNCILLORS	STAFF
Cr Shane Atherton	Ben Rose – Chief Executive Officer
Cr Lisa Glover	Steve Potter – Director Operations
Cr Peter Gubler	Kim Dolzadelli – Director Corporate and Community
Cr Phil Jones	Maureen Keegan – Manager Executive Services
Cr Jackie Massey	Damien Morgan – Manager Works and Services
Cr Fred Mills	Karis Aplin – Communications Officer
Cr Chaz Newman	Archana Arun – Administration Officer Executive Services
Cr Chris Smith	
Cr Leanne Wringe	

Walter Bruce Hearman – Special Guest – JP (Freeman of the Shire)

PUBLIC GALLERY

25 members of the public were in attendance.

2.1 APOLOGIES

Nil.

2.2 APPROVED LEAVE OF ABSENCE

Nil.

3 SWEARING-IN OF NEW COUNCILLORS

Mr Walter Bruce Hearman, JP (Freeman of the Shire) invited each Councillor Elect to undertake the Affirmation of Allegiance and Declaration of Office.

Each Councillor Elect was invited to address the Council and gallery prior to taking their seat.

4 ELECTION OF SHIRE PRESIDENT

The Chief Executive Officer invited nominations for the position of Shire President for the ensuing two years.

Cr Newman nominated Cr Wringe for the position of Shire President. Cr Wringe accepted the nomination.

Cr Fred Mills nominated himself for the position of Shire President.

A secret ballot was conducted and on counting the votes Cr Wringe was declared elected 5 votes to 4, for a period of two years.

Cr Wringe was sworn in to the position of Shire President in the presence of Walter Bruce Hearman (Freeman), JP. Shire President Wringe took the Presiding Members Chair.

5 ELECTION OF DEPUTY SHIRE PRESIDENT

Via the CEO, the Shire President invited nominations for the position of Deputy Shire President for the ensuing two years.

Nominations were received from Cr Newman, Cr Glover and Cr Jones and accepted in writing.

Cr Newman withdrew his nomination based on the outcome of the vote for Shire President and in the interest of ensuring a balanced council made up of new and old members and also to ensure balance in experience.

A secret ballot was conducted and on counting the votes Cr Glover was declared elected 5 votes to 4, for a period of two years.

Cr Glover was sworn in to the position of Deputy Shire President in the presence of Walter Bruce Hearman (Freeman), JP.

6 ALLOCATION OF SEATING ARRANGEMENTS

In accordance with s.8.1 of the *Shire of Donnybrook-Balingup Meeting Procedures Local Law 2017*, the Shire President allotted, alphabetically, a position at the Council table to each Member, with the exception of the Deputy Shire President sitting to the immediate right of the Shire President.

7 CLOSURE

The Shire President closed the meeting at 6:38 pm and advised that the next Agenda Briefing Session will commence at 2:00pm 20 October 2021 prior to the Ordinary Council Meeting commencing at 5.00pm 27 October 2021 in the Shire of Donnybrook Balingup Council Chamber.

These Minutes were confirmed by the Council as a true and accurate record at the Ordinary Council Meeting held 27 October 2021.

Cr Leanne Wringe SHIRE PRESIDENT

L Winge